top of page

AISI 440B | 1.4112 | X90CrMoV18 | Martensitic stainless steel

Material information according to DIN EN 10088 / DIN EN 10278

Stainless steel AISI 440B, also known as 1.4112 and X90CrMoV18, is a martensitic chromium steel with an increased carbon content. The material belongs to the magnetic steels and has an extremely high hardness and resistance to wear as well as good corrosion resistance. The material is characterised by very good polishability (mirror polishing is possible) and toughness. Stainless steel AISI 440B (1.4112, X90CrMoV18) has a tensile strength of 750-950 N/mm² and a yield strength (R p0.2) of 550 N/mm². This material should not be used for welding, but it has good forging properties. Typical applications for this stainless steel, also known as knife steel, include the manufacture of cutting tools such as various forms of knives (in this case knife blades and knife discs) and surgical instruments. This material is also used in the pump industry, toolmaking, the production of components in mechanical engineering and the manufacture of appliances in the food industry. This stainless steel should not be used for cold heading and is poorly suited to cold forming.

Please note that we can currently only offer rods for this material.

Specifications of the material

EN material number: 1.4112

EN abbreviation: X90CrMoV18

EN standard: 10278

Microstructure class: Martensite

Comparable standards and designations

AFNOR X90CrMoV18

AISI 440B

ASTM 440B

SAE 440B

SIS 2319

UNS S44003

Chemical composition and properties of stainless steel 1.4112

C
Si
Mn
P
S
N
Cr
Cu
Mo
Ni
Ti
V
0,85 - 0,95
-
-
-
-
-
17,00 - 19,00
-
0,90 - 1,30
-
-
0,07 - 0,12

Mass fraction in % according to DIN EN 10095

Physical properties

Magnetisability: good

Density (kg/dm³): 7.7

Thermal conductivity (at up to 20°C): 15

Specific heat at 20°C (J/kg K): 430

Modulus of elasticity kN/mm² at 20°C: 215

Electronic resistance at room temperature (in Ω mm²/m): 0.80

Weldability

Stainless steel AISI 440B has very poor welding properties, as hardening cracks and stress cracks can occur if localised heating is too high. This material should therefore not be used for welding.

Forgeability

The material is suitable for forging. The forging process can take place between 1100°C and 800°C. Subsequent cooling is possible in the furnace or in the air.

Corrosion resistance

Due to its high chromium content, martensitic chromium steel AISI 440B/1.4112 has good corrosion resistance to non-chlorinated media such as water and water vapour in the quenched and tempered condition.

Soft annealing, stress-relieving annealing & hardening

Soft annealing: Soft annealing should be carried out in the temperature range of 780 - 840 °C. Subsequent cooling can be carried out in the air or in an oven.

Stress-relief annealing: Stress-relief annealing of this material is possible at 600°C - 650°C with subsequent cooling in the furnace.

Hardening: Stainless steel AISI 440B can be hardened in the temperature range of 1000°C - 1050°C. Cooling is possible in oil, in a hot bath or in the air.

Applications of stainless steel AISI 440B (1.4112)

Stainless steel AISI 440B (1.4112, X90CrMoV18) is used for various applications due to its specific properties. These include:

Knives and surgical instruments: Due to its hardness, toughness and corrosion resistance, stainless steel 1.4112 is often used for the production of high-quality knives, surgical instruments and medical devices.

Industrial knives and tools: In industry, stainless steel 1.4112 is used for the manufacture of cutting tools, knives, blades and other tools that require high strength and durability.

Ball bearings: Due to its good corrosion resistance and hardness, stainless steel 1.4112 is also used in the manufacture of ball bearings for various applications, including mechanical engineering, the automotive industry and aerospace.

Screws and bolts: In industries that require robust and corrosion-resistant fasteners, such as construction, shipbuilding and chemical plants, stainless steel 1.4112 is often used for the production of screws, bolts and other fasteners.

Food processing and catering: Due to its high resistance to acids and food juices, stainless steel 1.4112 is often used in food processing and catering, for example for knives, kitchen utensils and equipment in food production.

Chemical industry: In the chemical industry, stainless steel 1.4112 is used in systems and containers that are exposed to aggressive chemicals thanks to its excellent corrosion resistance and chemical resistance.

Please note

The information given in this data sheet has been compiled to the best of our knowledge and is based on the current version of the relevant standard. It is considered for reference only and we assume no liability for any errors.

bottom of page

top of page

1.4112 | AISI 440B | X90CrMoV18 | Martensitischer Edelstahl

Materialinformationen nach DIN EN 10088 / DIN EN 10278

Edelstahl 1.4112, der auch unter der Bezeichnung AISI 440B oder X90CrMoV18 bekannt ist, ist ein nichtrostender martensitischer Chromstahl mit erhöhtem Kohlenstoffgehalt. Das Material gehört zu den magnetischen Stählen und besitzt eine extrem hohe Härte und Festigkeit gegenüber Verschleiß sowie eine gute Korrosionsbeständigkeit. Der Werkstoff zeichnet sich durch eine sehr gute Polierbarkeit (Hochglanzpolieren ist möglich) und Zähigkeit aus. Edelstahl 1.4112 besitzt eine Zugfestigkeit von 750-950 N/mm² und eine Streckgrenze (R p0,2) von 550 N/mm². Zum Schweißen sollte dieser Werkstoff nicht verwendet werden, allerdings besitzt er gute Schmiedeeigenschaften. Zu den typischen Anwendungen dieses auch als Messerstahl bekannten Edelstahls gehört die Herstellung von Schneidewerkzeugen. Hierzu gehören unterschiedlichen Formen von Messern (hier Messerklingen und Messerscheiben) sowie chirurgischen Instrumenten. Weitere Verwendung findet dieser Werkstoff in der Pumpenindustrie, dem Werkzeugbau, der Produktion von  Bauteilen im Maschinenbau oder bei der Herstellung von Geräten in der Lebensmittelindustrie. Dieser Edelstahl nur schlecht zur Kaltumformung und sollte nicht zum Kaltstauchen verwendet werden.

Bitte beachten Sie dass wir für diesen Werkstoff aktuell nur Stäbe / Stangen anbieten können.

Spezifikationen des Materials

EN-Werkstoffnummer: 1.4112

EN-Kurzname: X90CrMoV18

EN-Norm: 10278

Gefügeklasse: Martensit

Vergleichbare Normen und Bezeichnungen

AFNOR X90CrMoV18

AISI 440B

ASTM 440B

SAE 440B

SIS 2319

UNS S44003

Chemische Zusammensetzung und Eigenschaften von Edelstahl 1.4112

C
Si
Mn
P
S
N
Cr
Cu
Mo
Ni
Ti
V
0,85 - 0,95
-
-
-
-
-
17,00 - 19,00
-
0,90 - 1,30
-
-
0,07 - 0,12

Massenanteil in % nach DIN EN 10088-3

Abkürzungen: C = Kohlenstoff, Cr = Chrom, Cu = Kupfer, Mn = Mangan, Mo = Molybdän, N = Stickstoff, Ni = Nickel, P = Phosphor, S = Schwefel, Si = Silicium, Ti = Thallium, V = Vanadium.

Physikalische Eigenschaften

Magnetisierbarkeit: gut

Dichte (kg/dm³): 7,7
Wärmeleitfähigkeit (bei bis 20°C): 15

Spez. Wärme bei 20°C (J/kg K): 430

Elastizitätsmodul kN/mm² bei 20°C: 215
Elektronischer Widerstand bei Raumtemperatur (in Ω mm²/m): 0,80

Schweißbarkeit

Edelstahl 1.4112 besitzt sehr schlechte Schweißeigenschaften, da bei zu starker örtlicher Erhitzung Härtungsrisse und Spannungsrisse entstehen können. Dieser Werkstoff sollte daher nicht zum Schweißen verwendet werden.

Schmiedbarkeit

Das Material ist zum Schmieden geeignet. Der Schmiedevorgang kann zwischen 1100°C und 800°C erfolgen. Das anschließende Abkühlen ist im Ofen oder an der Luft möglich.

Korrosionsbeständigkeit

Aufgrund des hohen Chromgehalts besitzt der martensitische Chromstahl 1.4112 (AISI 440B, X90CrMoV18) im vergüteten Zustand eine gute Korrosionsbeständigkeit gegenüber nicht chlorhaltigen Medien wie Wasser und Wasserdampf.

Weichglühen, Spannungsarm Glühen & Härten

Weichglühen: Das Weichglühen sollte im Temperaturbereich von 780 - 840 °C erfolgen. Die spätere Abkühlung kann an der Luft oder im Ofen vorgenommen werden.

Spannungsarm Glühen: Spannungsarm Glühen dieses Werkstoffs ist bei 600°C - 650°C bei einer anschließenden Abkühlung im Ofen möglich. 

Härten: Edelstahl 1.4112 kann im Temperaturbereich von 1000°C - 1050°C gehärtet werden. Die Abkühlung ist in Öl, im Warmbad oder an der Luft möglich.

Anwendungen von Edelstahl 1.4112 (AISI 440B)

Edelstahl 1.4112 (AISI 440B, X90CrMoV18) wird aufgrund seiner spezifischen Eigenschaften für verschiedenen Anwendungen eingesetzt. Hierzu zählen:

Messer und chirurgische Instrumente: Aufgrund seiner Härte, Zähigkeit und Korrosionsbeständigkeit wird Edelstahl 1.4112 häufig für die Herstellung von hochwertigen Messern, chirurgischen Instrumenten und medizinischen Geräten verwendet.

Industrielle Messer und Werkzeuge: In der Industrie wird Edelstahl 1.4112 für die Herstellung von Schneidwerkzeugen, Messern, Klingen und anderen Werkzeugen eingesetzt, die hohe Festigkeit und Haltbarkeit erfordern.

Kugellager: Aufgrund seiner guten Korrosionsbeständigkeit und Härte wird Edelstahl 1.4112 auch in der Herstellung von Kugellagern für verschiedene Anwendungen verwendet, darunter Maschinenbau, Automobilindustrie und Luft- und Raumfahrt.

Schrauben und Bolzen: In Branchen, die robuste und korrosionsbeständige Befestigungselemente erfordern, wie z. B. im Bauwesen, in der Schiffbauindustrie oder in chemischen Anlagen, wird Edelstahl 1.4112 oft für die Herstellung von Schrauben, Bolzen und anderen Befestigungselementen verwendet.

Lebensmittelverarbeitung und Gastronomie: Aufgrund seiner hohen Beständigkeit gegenüber Säuren und Lebensmittelsäften wird Edelstahl 1.4112 häufig in der Lebensmittelverarbeitung und in der Gastronomie eingesetzt, zum Beispiel für Messer, Küchengeräte und Geräte in der Lebensmittelherstellung.

Chemische Industrie: In der chemischen Industrie findet Edelstahl 1.4112 Anwendung in Anlagen und Behältern, die aggressiven Chemikalien ausgesetzt sind, dank seiner ausgezeichneten Korrosionsbeständigkeit und chemischen Beständigkeit.

Bitte beachten Sie

Die in diesem Datenblatt, bzw. den Materialinformationen, angegebenen Daten wurden nach bestem Wissen erstellt und beruhen auf der vorliegenden Fassung der jeweilig relevanten Norm. Für etwaige Fehler übernehmen wir keine Gewähr.

bottom of page