top of page

AISI 420C | 1.4034 | BS 420S45 | X46Cr13 | Martensitic stainless steel

Material information according to DIN EN 10088-3

Stainless steel AISI 420C, also known as 1.4034, BS 420S45 or DIN X46Cr13, is a ferromagnetic martensitic steel. The material is characterised by good wear resistance and polishability (high-gloss polishing is possible). Stainless steel AISI 420C has a density of 7.7 kg/dm³ (at 20 °C), a hardness of ≤ 245 HB and a tensile strength of 800 to 1000 N/mm². The material is easy to forge but difficult to machine. It should not be used for welding.
Martensitic stainless steel 1.4034 has good corrosion resistance (PREN value 12.5 to 14.5), which is, however, negatively affected in the soft-annealed or highly tempered state. It is not resistant to seawater and some acids, nor to intercrystalline corrosion. The material is suitable for hot forming and machining. It is rarely used for cold forming and machining, and is not normally used for cold heading. AISI 420C stainless steel is regularly used in industry for the production of cutting tools such as knives. In medical technology, the material is used, for example, for the production of scalpels and surgical instruments.

Product range: We offer this material in our range as stainless steel wire and as rods/bars.

Specifications of the material

EN material number: 1.4034
EN short name: X46Cr13
EN standard: 10088-3
Microstructure class: martensite

Comparable standards and designations

AFNOR Z44C14 / Z38C13M
AISI 420C
ASTM 420
BS 420S45
JIS SUS420

PN 4H13

RVS 420C
UNE F.3405
UNS S42000

Properties and chemical composition of stainless steel AISI 420C / 1.4034

C
Si
Mn
P
S
N
Cr
Cu
Mo
Ni
Ti
0,43 - 0,50
≤ 1,00
≤ 1,00
≤ 0,04
≤ 0,03
-
12,5 - 14,5
-
-
-
-

Mass fraction in % according to DIN EN 10088-3
Abbreviations: C = carbon, Cr = chromium, Cu = copper, Mn = manganese, Mo = molybdenum, N = nitrogen, Ni = nickel, P = phosphorus, S = sulphur, Si = silicon, Ti = thallium.

Physical properties

Magnetisability: present
Density (kg/dm³): 7.7
Thermal conductivity (at up to 20°C): 30
Electronic resistance at room temperature (in Ω mm²/m): 0.55

Mechanical properties

Ø in mm
WBZ
HHB
Rp0,2 in MPa
Rm in MPa
A5 in %
AV in J
GS
+A
≤ 245
-
≤ 800
-
-
≤ 160
+QT800 (*)
-
≥ 650
800 - 1000
≥ 10 (α)
≥ 12 (α)

Abbreviations: HHB = hardness HB, WBZ = heat treatment condition, * = minimum strength, α = longitudinal

Stainless steel AISI 420C / 1.4034 has very poor welding properties. Therefore, it is not recommended to weld this material. If welding is unavoidable, it should be carried out with extreme caution. In this case, preheating to 350°C - 400°C and heat treatment at approx. 650°C is required.

Forging

The material AISI 420C / BS 420S45 is easily forgeable. The material must first be slowly heated to a temperature of over 800°C. This is followed by rapid heating to 1050°C to 1150°C. Forging can take place in the temperature range between 1100°C and 800°C. Subsequently, slow cooling in dry ash or in the furnace is required.

Heat treatment and hot forming

Hot forming (slow cooling in the furnace): 1100-800 °C
Soft annealing (+A) (slow cooling in the furnace or in air): 750-850 °C
Tempering (+ QT 850) - hardening (rapid cooling in air or in oil): 950-1050 °C
Tempering (+ QT 850) - annealing (rapid cooling in air): 650-700 °C
Stress-relieving annealing: 200 °C

Machinability

The stainless steel AISI 420C / BS 420S45 has a rather poor machinability, which corresponds to that of comparable structural steels. It varies depending on the hardness and strength of the material.

Corrosion resistance

Stainless steel AISI 420C / BS 420S45 has good corrosion resistance (PREN value 12.5 to 14.5), which is provided against both chloride-free and aggressive media (e.g. nitric acid) and against water and steam. The corrosion resistance can be increased by polishing in the quenched and tempered state.
Please note that chromium carbides form in the soft-annealed and highly tempered state, which has a negative effect on corrosion resistance. The material is not resistant to intergranular corrosion and in combination with salt (MaCl) and salt water (seawater) there is a risk of pitting corrosion. It is not resistant to sulphuric acid. This material is only slightly resistant to formic acid.

Applications of stainless steel AISI 420C / 1.4034

Martensitic chromium steel AISI 420C / 1.4034 is used in a range of industries due to its good corrosion resistance, wear resistance and polishability. These include mechanical engineering and the automotive industry, where this material is used to manufacture components that require high strength and wear resistance. In the cutlery industry, this stainless steel is used to make knives and blades due to its hardness and wear resistance. The food industry uses it, for example, to make machine knives, and medical technology uses it to make scalpels and other surgical instruments.
Other industries that regularly use stainless steel AISI 420C include the pharmaceutical industry, the roller bearing industry and the energy technology sector.

The data provided in this data sheet or material information sheet has been compiled to the best of our knowledge and is based on the current version of the relevant standard. We do not accept any liability for any errors.

Please note

Stainless steel wire online shop

Do you have any questions about our products or are you looking for a different stainless steel wire?

bottom of page

top of page

1.4034 | AISI 420C | X46Cr13 | Martensitischer Edelstahl

Materialinformationen nach DIN EN 10088-3

Edelstahl 1.4034, auch bekannt unter der Bezeichnung AISI 420C oder DIN X46Cr13, gehört zu den ferromagnetischen martensitischen Stählen. Der Werkstoff zeichnet sich durch eine gute Verschleißfestigkeit und Polierbarkeit (Hochglanzpolieren ist möglich) aus. Edelstahl 1.4034 besitzt eine Dichte von 7,7 kg/dm³ (bei 20 °C), eine Härte von ≤ 245 HB und eine Zugfestigkeit von 800 bis 1000 N/mm². Der Werkstoff ist gut schmiedbar, aber schlecht zerspanbar. Zum Schweißen sollte er nicht verwendet werden.
Der martensitische Edelstahl 1.4034 besitzt eine gute Korrosionsbeständigkeit (PREN-Wert 12,5 bis 14,5), die jedoch im weichgeglühten oder hochangelassenen Zustand negativ beeinflusst wird. Eine Beständigkeit gegen Seewasser und einige Säuren sowie gegen interkristalline Korrosion ist nicht gegeben. Für die Warmumformung und spangebende Verarbeitung geeignet sich das Material. Für die Kaltumformung und die Automatenbearbeitung wird es selten genutzt und zum Kaltstauchen kommt es normalerweise nicht zum Einsatz. Industriell wird Edelstahl 1.4034 regelmäßig zur Herstellung von Schneidwerkzeugen wie Messern verwendet. In der Medizintechnik wird der Werkstoff z.B. für die Herstellung von Skalpellen und chirurgischen Instrumenten eingesetzt.

Lieferprogramm: In unserem Sortiment bieten wir diesen Werkstoff als Edelstahldraht und als Stäbe /Stangen Rundstahl an.

Spezifikationen des Materials

EN-Werkstoffnummer: 1.4034
EN-Kurzname: X46Cr13
EN-Norm: 10088-3
Gefügeklasse: Martensit

Vergleichbare Normen und Bezeichnungen

AFNOR Z44C14 / Z38C13M
AISI 420C
ASTM 420
BS 420S45
JIS SUS420

PN 4H13

RVS 420C
UNE F.3405
UNS S42000

Eigenschaften und chemische Zusammensetzung von Edelstahl 1.4034

C
Si
Mn
P
S
N
Cr
Cu
Mo
Ni
Ti
0,43 - 0,50
≤ 1,00
≤ 1,00
≤ 0,04
≤ 0,03
-
12,5 - 14,5
-
-
-
-

Massenanteil in % nach DIN EN 10088-3

Abkürzungen: C = Kohlenstoff, Cr = Chrom, Cu = Kupfer, Mn = Mangan, Mo = Molybdän, N = Stickstoff, Ni = Nickel, P = Phosphor, S = Schwefel, Si = Silicium, Ti = Thallium.

Physikalische Eigenschaften

Magnetisierbarkeit: vorhanden

Dichte (kg/dm³): 7,7

Wärmeleitfähigkeit (bei bis 20°C): 30

Elektronischer Widerstand bei Raumtemperatur (in Ω mm²/m): 0,55

Mechanische Eigenschaften

Ø in mm
WBZ
HHB
Rp0,2 in MPa
Rm in MPa
A5 in %
AV in J
GS
+A
≤ 245
-
≤ 800
-
-
≤ 160
+QT800 (*)
-
≥ 650
800 - 1000
≥ 10 (α)
≥ 12 (α)

Abkürzungen: HHB = Härte HB, WBZ = Wärmebehandlungszustand, * = minimale Festigkeit, α = längs

Schweißen

Martensitischer Edelstahl 1.4034 / AISI 420C weist sehr schlechte Schweißeigenschaften auf. Daher wird vom Schweißen dieses Werkstoffes abgeraten. Sollte ein Schweißen dennoch unumgänglich sein, so ist dieses mit äußerster Vorsicht durchzuführen. In diesem Fall ist ein Vorwärmen auf 350°C - 400°C und eine Wärmebehandlung bei ca. 650°C erforderlich.

Schmieden

Der Werkstoff 1.4034 ist gut schmiedbar. Der Werkstoff muss zunächst langsam auf eine Temperatur von über 800°C erwärmt werden. Danach folgt eine schnelle Erwärmung auf 1050°C bis 1150°C. Das Schmieden kann im Temperaturbereich zwischen 1100°C und 800°C erfolgen. Anschließend ist eine langsame Abkühlung in trockener Asche oder im Ofen erforderlich.

Wärmebehandlung und Warmumformung

Warmumformung (langsame Abkühlung im Ofen): 1100-800 °C

Weichglühen (+A) (langsame Abkühlung im Ofen oder an der Luft): 750-850 °C

Vergüten (+ QT 850) - Härten (schnelle Abkühlung an der Luft oder im Öl): 950-1050 °C

Vergüten (+ QT 850) - Anlassen (schnelle Abkühlung an der Luft): 650-700 °C

Spannungsarmglühen: 200 °C

Spanbarkeit

Der rostfreie Stahl 1.4034 besitzt eine eher schlechte Zerspanbarkeit, die der vergleichbarer Baustähle entspricht. Sie variiert in Abhängigkeit von der Härte und Festigkeit des Materials.

Korrosionsbeständigkeit

Edelstahl 1.4034 besitzt eine gute Korrosionsbeständigkeit (PREN-Wert 12,5 bis 14,5), die sowohl gegen chloridfreie und aggressive Medien (z.B. Salpetersäure), als auch gegen Wasser und Wasserdampf gegeben ist.

Die Korrosionsbeständigkeit kann im vergüteten Zustand durch Polieren erhöht werden.

Beachten Sie dass sich im weichgeglühten und hochangelassenen Zustand Chromkarbiden bilden, die die Korrosionsbeständigkeit negativ beeinflussen. Der Werkstoff ist nicht beständig gegen interkristalline Korrosion und in Verbindung mit Salz (MaCl) und Salzwasser (Meerwasser, bzw. Seewasser) ist die Gefahr durch Lochkorrosion gegeben. Eine Beständigkeit gegen Schwefelsäure liegt nicht vor. Gegen Ameisensäure ist dieser Werkstoff nur wenig beständig.

Anwendungsbereich von Edelstahl 1.4034

Der martensitische Chrom-Stahl 1.4034 wird aufgrund seiner guten Korrosionsbeständigkeit, Verschleißfestigkeit sowie der guten Polierbarkeit in verschiedenen Branchen eingesetzt. Hierzu gehören der Maschinenbau und die Automobilindustrie, wo dieser Werkstoff für die Herstellung von Bauteilen verwendet wird, die eine hohe Festigkeit und Verschleißbeständigkeit erfordern. In der Schneidwarenindustrie wird dieser rostfreie Stahl aufgrund seiner Härte und Verschleißfestigkeit zur Herstellung von Messern und Klingen verwendet. Die Lebensmittelindustrie nutzt ihn beispielsweise für die Herstellung von Maschinenmessern und die Medizintechnik für Skalpelle und andere chirurgische Instrumente.
Weitere Industriezweige, in denen der Edelstahl 1.4034 regelmäßig zum Einsatz kommt, sind die Pharmaindustrie, die Wälzlagerindustrie und die Energietechnik.

Die in diesem Datenblatt, bzw. den Materialinformationen, angegebenen Daten wurden nach bestem Wissen erstellt und beruhen auf der vorliegenden Fassung der jeweilig relevanten Norm. Für etwaige Fehler übernehmen wir keine Gewähr.

Bitte beachten Sie

Edelstahldraht Shop Logo

Haben Sie Fragen zu unseren Produkten oder suchen Sie einen anderen rostfreien Draht?

bottom of page