top of page

AISI 420 | 1.4021 | BS 420S37 | X20Cr13 | Martensitic stainless steel

Material information according to DIN EN 10088-3

Stainless steel AISI 420 is a martensitic chromium steel that is also known under the designations 1.4021, BS 420S37, and X20Cr13. Due to its high chromium content, the material has good corrosion resistance (PREN value 12.0 - 14.0). The material can be used at temperatures up to 400°C. It has a hardness of ≤ 230 HB, a density of 7.7 kg/dm³ (at room temperature) and a tensile strength of 750 to 850 N/mm². This stainless steel grade is characterised by its good polishability, which also allows it to be polished to a high gloss. The material can be processed using all common welding methods (except arc welding) and is also well suited to forging. Other processing options include cold forming and machining. This steel is not normally used for cold heading. It is frequently used in the manufacture of cutting tools such as knives, or for decorative purposes in architecture and design.

Product range: We offer this material in our range as stainless steel wire and as rods/bars.

Specifications of the material

EN material number: 1.4021
EN short name: X20Cr13
EN standard: 10088-3
Microstructure class: martensite

Comparable standards and designations

AFNOR Z20C13

AISI 420

B.S. 420S37

CSN 17022

JIS SUS420J1

PN 2H13

SS 2303
UNE F.3402

Properties and chemical composition of stainless steel AISI 420 / 1.4021

C
Si
Mn
P
S
N
Cr
Cu
Mo
Ni
Ti
0,16 - 0,25
≤ 1,00
≤ 1,50
≤ 0,04
≤ 0,03
-
12,0 - 14,0
-
-
-
-

Mass fraction in % according to DIN EN 10088-3
Abbreviations: C = carbon, Cr = chromium, Cu = copper, Mn = manganese, Mo = molybdenum, N = nitrogen, Ni = nickel, P = phosphorus, S = sulphur, Si = silicon, Ti = thallium.

Physical properties

Magnetisability: present
Density (kg/dm³): 7.7
Thermal conductivity (at up to 20°C): 30
Electrical resistance at room temperature (in Ω mm²/m): 0.6
Specific heat capacity (at up to 20°C): 460

Mechanical properties

Ø in mm
WBZ
HHB
Rp0,2 in MPa
Rm in MPa
A5 in %
AV in J
≤ 160
QT800
-
≥ 600
800 - 950
≥ 12
≥ 20
≤ 160
QT700
-
≥ 500
700 - 850
≥ 13
≥ 25

Abbreviations: HHB = hardness HB, WBZ = heat treatment condition

Yield strengths at elevated temperature in the solution-annealed condition

Temp in °C
QT
100 °C
150 °C
200 °C
250 °C
300 °C
350 °C
400 °C
Rp1,0 in Mpa
+QT800
≥ 515
≥ 495
≥ 475
≥ 460
≥ 440
≥ 405
≥ 355
Rp0,2 in Mpa
+QT700
≥ 460
≥ 445
≥ 430
≥ 415
≥ 395
≥ 365
≥ 330

Stainless steel AISI 420 / 1.4021 is readily weldable. The material can be processed using all common welding methods such as TIG, MAG and UP welding, but is not suitable for arc welding. Care should be taken to ensure that nitrogen- or hydrogen-containing gases are not used, as these can have a negative impact on the mechanical properties of the material. Before welding, the material must be heated to between 100°C and 300°C. After welding, the material should be cooled to a temperature below 120°C before tempering at approx. 650°C as part of the heat treatment. The materials 1.4302 (X5CrNi19-9), 1.4502 (X8CrTi18) and 1.4551 (X5CrNiNb19-9) can be used as welding additives.

Forging

The material AISI 420 / BS 420S37 is readily forgeable. It should first be heated slowly to over 850°C, followed by rapid heating to 1150°C to 1180°C. Forging can then be carried out in the temperature range from 1100°C to 950°C. The material should then be cooled slowly in the furnace. If discolouration or scale forms, it must be removed, as it has a negative effect on corrosion resistance. This material can be used for freehand and joint forging.

Heat treatment and hot forming

Soft annealing (+A) (slow cooling in the furnace or in air): 745-825 °C
Hot forming (slow cooling in the furnace): 1100-800 °C
Tempering (+ QT) (cooling in air, oil or polymer): 950-1050 °C
Tempering (+ QT700) (cooling in air, oil or polymer): 650-750 °C
Tempering (+ QT800) (cooling in air, oil or polymer): 600-700 °C

Machinability

The material AISI 420 has an average machinability, which depends on its hardness and strength. The machining values are comparable to those of similar steel grades.

Corrosion resistance

The martensitic stainless steel 1.4021 (AISI 420, X20Cr13) has good corrosion resistance due to its high chromium content of 12-14%. This applies in particular to non-chlorine-containing media such as organic acids, soaps or solvents. The material is resistant to scaling up to 600°C. Please note that the material is not resistant to intergranular corrosion.

Applications of stainless steel AISI 420 / 1.4021

Stainless steel AISI 420 (1.4021, X20Cr13) is widely used in various industries. In the cutlery industry, this steel is often used to make knives, scissors and other cutting tools. In the oil industry, it is often used for pump parts, valves and pipes due to its good resistance to corrosive environments. This steel is also used in mechanical engineering, for example in the manufacture of components. In the hydraulics industry, the material is used in hydraulic cylinders and components due to its strength and hardness. The automotive industry uses stainless steel AISI 420 for parts such as axles, crankshafts and gearbox components due to its wear resistance and hardness. In the chemical and petrochemical industry, the material is used in tank construction. This stainless steel is also used for decorative purposes in architecture and design, as it can be polished and refined well. It plays an important role in the food industry, especially in the production of kitchen appliances and food processing machines.

The data provided in this data sheet or material information sheet has been compiled to the best of our knowledge and is based on the current version of the relevant standard. We do not accept any liability for any errors.

Please note

Stainless steel wire online shop

Do you have any questions about our products or are you looking for a different stainless steel wire?

bottom of page

top of page

1.4021 | AISI 420 | X20Cr13 | Martensitischer Edelstahl

Materialinformationen nach DIN EN 10088-3

Edelstahl 1.4021 ist ein martensitischer Chromstahl, der auch unter den Bezeichnungen AISI 420 und X20Cr13 bekannt ist. Aufgrund des hohen Chromgehalts besitzt der Werkstoff eine gute Korrosionsbeständigkeit (PREN-Wert 12,0 - 14,0). Das Material kann bis zu einer Temperatur von 400°C eingesetzt werden. Es besitzt eine Härte von ≤ 230 HB, eine Dichte von 7,7 kg/dm³ (bei Raumtemperatur) und eine Zugfestigkeit von 750 bis 850 N/mm². Eine gute Polierbarkeit zeichnen diese Edelstahlgüte aus, die auch hochglanzpolierbar ist. Der Werkstoff kann mit allen gängigen Schweißverfahren (außer Lichtbogenschweißen) verarbeitet werden und eignet sich auch gut zum Schmieden. Weitere Verarbeitungsmöglichkeiten umfassen die Kaltumformung und die spanende Bearbeitung. Zum Kaltstauchen wird dieser Stahl normalerweise nicht genutzt. Häufige Verwendung findet er bei der Herstellung von Schneidwerkzeugen wie etwa Messern oder für dekorative Zwecke in der Architektur und im Design.

Lieferprogramm: In unserem Sortiment bieten wir diesen Werkstoff als Edelstahldraht und als Stäbe/Stangen Rundstahl an.

Spezifikationen des Materials

EN-Werkstoffnummer: 1.4021

EN-Kurzname: X20Cr13

EN-Norm: 10088-3

Gefügeklasse: Martensit

Vergleichbare Normen und Bezeichnungen

AFNOR Z20C13

AISI 420

B.S. 420S37

ČSN 17022

JIS SUS420J1

PN 2H13

RVS 420

SS 2303
UNE F.3402

Eigenschaften und chemische Zusammensetzung von Edelstahl 1.4021

C
Si
Mn
P
S
N
Cr
Cu
Mo
Ni
Ti
0,16 - 0,25
≤ 1,00
≤ 1,50
≤ 0,04
≤ 0,03
-
12,0 - 14,0
-
-
-
-

Massenanteil in % nach DIN EN 10088-3

Abkürzungen: C = Kohlenstoff, Cr = Chrom, Cu = Kupfer, Mn = Mangan, Mo = Molybdän, N = Stickstoff, Ni = Nickel, P = Phosphor, S = Schwefel, Si = Silicium, Ti = Thallium.

Physikalische Eigenschaften

Magnetisierbarkeit: vorhanden

Dichte (kg/dm³): 7,7
Wärmeleitfähigkeit (bei bis 20°C): 30

Elektronischer Widerstand bei Raumtemperatur (in Ω mm²/m): 0,6

Spezifische Wärmekapazität (bei bis 20°C): 460

Mechanische Eigenschaften

Ø in mm
WBZ
HHB
Rp0,2 in MPa
Rm in MPa
A5 in %
AV in J
≤ 160
QT800
-
≥ 600
800 - 950
≥ 12
≥ 20
≤ 160
QT700
-
≥ 500
700 - 850
≥ 13
≥ 25

Abkürzungen: HHB = Härte HB, WBZ = Wärmebehandlungszustand

Streckgrenzen bei erhöhter Temperatur im lösungsgeglühten Zustand

Temp in °C
QT
100 °C
150 °C
200 °C
250 °C
300 °C
350 °C
400 °C
Rp1,0 in Mpa
+QT800
≥ 515
≥ 495
≥ 475
≥ 460
≥ 440
≥ 405
≥ 355
Rp0,2 in Mpa
+QT700
≥ 460
≥ 445
≥ 430
≥ 415
≥ 395
≥ 365
≥ 330

Schweißen

Edelstahl 1.4021 besitzt eine gute Schweißbarkeit. Das Material kann mit allen gängigen Schweißverfahren wie WIG-, MAG- und UP-Schweißen verarbeitet werden, ist jedoch nicht für das Lichtbogenschweißen geeignet. Es sollte darauf geachtet werden, dass stickstoff- oder wasserstoffhaltige Gase nicht verwendet werden, da diese die mechanischen Eigenschaften des Werkstoffs negativ beeinflussen können. Vor dem Schweißen muss das Material auf 100°C bis 300°C erwärmt werden. Nach dem Schweißen sollte das Material auf eine Temperatur unter 120°C abkühlen, bevor im Rahmen der Wärmebehandlung ein Anlassen bei ca. 650°C erfolgt. Als Schweißzusätze können die Werkstoffe 1.4302 (X5CrNi19-9), 1.4502 (X8CrTi18) und 1.4551 (X5CrNiNb19-9) verwendet werden.

Schmieden

Der Werkstoff 1.4021 ist gut schmiedbar. Er sollte zunächst langsam auf über 850°C erwärmt werden, gefolgt von einer schnellen Erwärmung auf 1150°C bis 1180°C. Das Schmieden kann dann im Temperaturbereich von 1100 °C bis 950 °C vorgenommen werden. Anschließend sollte eine langsame Abkühlung im Ofen erfolgen. Falls sich Anlauffarben oder Zunder bilden, müssen diese entfernt werden, da sie die Korrosionsbeständigkeit negativ beeinflussen. Zum Freihand und Gelenkschmieden kann dieser Werkstoff verwendet werden.

Wärmebehandlung und Warmumformung

Weichglühen (+A) (langsame Abkühlung im Ofen oder an der Luft): 745-825 °C

Warmumformung (langsame Abkühlung im Ofen): 1100-800 °C

Vergüten (+ QT) (Abkühlung an der Luft, im Öl oder Polymer): 950-1050 °C

Anlassen (+ QT700) (Abkühlung an der Luft, im Öl oder Polymer): 650-750 °C

Anlassen (+ QT800) (Abkühlung an der Luft, im Öl oder Polymer): 600-700 °C

Spanbarkeit

Der Werkstoff 1.4021 weist eine mittlere Zerspanbarkeit auf, die von seiner Härte und Festigkeit abhängt. Die Zerspanungswerte sind vergleichbar mit denen ähnlicher Stahlsorten.

Korrosionsbeständigkeit

Der martensitische Edelstahl 1.4021 (AISI 420, X20Cr13) besitzt aufgrund seines hohen Chromgehaltes von 12-14% eine gute Korrosionsbeständigkeit (PREN-Wert beträgt 12,0 - 14,0). Dies gilt insbesondere für nichtchlorhaltige Medien wie organische Säuren, Seifen oder Lösungsmittel. Eine Zunderbeständigkeit des Werkstoffes ist bis 600°C gegeben. Bitte beachten Sie, dass der Werkstoff keine Beständigkeit gegen interkristalline Korrosion aufweist.

Anwendungsbereich von Edelstahl 1.4021

Edelstahl 1.4021 (AISI 420, X20Cr13) ist in verschiedenen Industriezweigen weit verbreitet. In der Schneidwarenindustrie wird dieser Stahl häufig zur Herstellung von Messern, Scheren und anderen Schneidwerkzeugen verwendet. In der Erdölindustrie wird er aufgrund seiner guten Beständigkeit gegen korrosive Umgebungen häufig für Pumpenteile, Ventile und Rohre genutzt. Auch im Maschinenbau kommt dieser Stahl zum Einsatz, etwa bei der Herstellung von Komponenten. In der Hydraulikindustrie kommt wird der Werkstoff aufgrund seiner Festigkeit und Härte bei Hydraulikzylindern und -komponenten verwendet. Die Automobilindustrie nutzt Edelstahl 1.4021 aufgrund seiner Verschleißfestigkeit und Härte für Teile wie Achsen, Kurbelwellen und Getriebekomponenten. In der chemischen und petrochemischen Industrie kommt der Werkstoff im Behälterbau zum Einsatz. Auch für dekorative Zwecke in Architektur und Design wird dieser Edelstahl genutzt, da er sich gut polieren und veredeln lässt. In der Lebensmittelindustrie spielt er eine wichtige Rolle, insbesondere bei der Herstellung von Küchengeräten und Maschinen für die Lebensmittelverarbeitung.

Die in diesem Datenblatt, bzw. den Materialinformationen, angegebenen Daten wurden nach bestem Wissen erstellt und beruhen auf der vorliegenden Fassung der jeweilig relevanten Norm. Für etwaige Fehler übernehmen wir keine Gewähr.

Bitte beachten Sie

Edelstahldraht Shop Logo

Haben Sie Fragen zu unseren Produkten oder suchen Sie einen anderen rostfreien Draht?

bottom of page